top of page
  • Writer's pictureEllesca Helderberg

A DAY WELL SPENT


Mi Gudu

Hola mi amores,

Today we are celebrating indigenous day and Javanese immigration here in Suriname. National days are great, but not when you have to work the next day. That’s why you have to take a moment to unwind otherwise it wouldn’t do you much good. Make you day off count and you should use that time to its full advantage.

Decide in advance what experiences you want to plan the day around. Because if you don’t have a plan, you’re likely to fritter away time doing household chores, running errands or watching TV. Let’s face it: A day-trip to Colakreek (beach) or New-Amsterdam, Commewijne just won’t appear on your do-it-now radar screen the way a reality show or pile of unfolded laundry will. So plot out a loose agenda, or at least a wish list for what you want to do.

I planned something really different of what I do during my day offs. Mostly on such a day I cook, clean and listen to music. But today I chose to be a tourist in my country. I’m going on a boat trip.

A friend of my shared a flyer on her WhatsApp status and that made me curious to go on the trip. You could chose the early morning trip or the sunset trip. I’m a sunset lover so guess what I chose that one LOL.

When I came to the dock where we had to gather, the boat “Mi Gudu”(My love) looked stunning with the sun reflecting on the river. We left on time and we were greeted by the guide, his name is Stefano and later with a cocktail. During the boat trip we could take pictures, order some snack, enjoy the cold wind and the view. The sunset was really beautiful.

Heading home went too fast, I wish that this day could last longer.

“A well spent day bring happy sleep.”

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page